22 August 2016

Presidents Report

This report concludes my term as President. The 2015-2016 year has been a success following the hosting of the AARES conference in Rotorua in February 2015 and the NZARES symposium in Wellington in August 2015. Numerous members participated in the AARES conference in Canberra in February 2016. Approximately 80 people have attended our annual conference here Nelson.

It has been a pleasure to host Paul Morgan (Wakatū), Charles Hyde (NZ Superfund), Paul Lamont (Rabobank), Graham Doole (University of Waikato), Suzi Kerr (Motu), Dave Evison (Canterbury University), Murray Sturgeon (Nelson Pine Forest), Tim Payne (Scion) Craig Greenlees (Kiwifruit industry) and Alan Renwick (Lincoln University) as invited speakers; Approximately 40 contributed papers are being presented.

During the last year the AARES has been undertaking a Strategic Review led by Professor Ross Cullen of Lincoln University. This provides opportunities for the society to adapt and better serve its members.

This year postgraduate awards were made to Prince Etwire, Otago University; Thang Chien Mai, Massey University; and Amarachukwu Anyanwu (Anthony), from Lincoln University. Other awards will be presented at the end of the conference.

The NZARES continues to be a success in its own right but I note there are opportunities for the Society to take greater advantage of opportunities associated with our relationships with AARES, AAEA and related societies.

I note the Editors of the *Australian Journal of Agricultural and Resource Economics* 2017-2019 are Frank Scrimgeour, John Gibson and Ric Scarpa from Waikato University.

I would like to thank the following committee members for their high quality service to this society: Sandra Barns, Alan Renwick, Darran Austin, Matthew Newman, Phil Journeaux, Richard Yao, and Tony Schischka.

Thank you for the opportunity to serve the Society.

Professor Frank Scrimgeour