

New Zealand Agricultural and Resource Economics Society (Inc.)

Minutes of the NZARES Annual General Meeting Thursday 30 August 2018, 5pm Rutherford House, Victoria University of Wellington

Present: Phil Journeaux, Tony Schischka, Darran Austin, Graeme Doole, Femi Olubode, Katie

Bicknell, Caroline Saunders, Richard Yao, Yvonne Matthews, Patrick Walsh, Rob

Davidson, Frank Scrimgeour (for items 4 to 8 only), Santiago Bermeo

Apologies: Allan Rae, Anita Wreford, Joan Smith and Andrew Burtt

1. Minutes of the 2017 AGM

Minutes were accepted as a true and correct record. (Moved by CS, Seconded by RD).

2. Matters arising from 2017 minutes

No matters arising.

3. Life membership nomination

A Life membership nomination for Professor Frank Scrimgeour, submitted by Professor Graeme Doole, was considered and carried. (Moved by GD, Seconded by CS).

4. President's Report

Darran Austin's President's report was considered and accepted. (Moved by DA, Seconded by PJ).

It was noted that the 3-year sponsorship agreement with the Ministry for Primary Industries concluded this year.

5. Treasurer's Report

Phil Journeaux's Treasurer's report was considered and accepted. (Moved by PJ, Seconded by CS).

It was noted that the Society is in a sound financial position. There was a general discussion about possible ways of increasing expenditure in light of this, as summarised below.

- Prizes, awards and grants:
 - o increasing the value and/or number of them,
 - o provide awards for attendance to other conferences (e.g. US or UK),
 - making general members eligible, not just students (e.g. through Early Career or Young Professional awards),

- o reviewing eligibility criteria with a view to awarding the maximum number of prizes each year,
- o allowing universities to nominate more than one candidate,
- o allowing students to self-nominate,
- o publicising awards directly to students (e.g. through Facebook, posters, scholarship registers) to increase interest and participation,
- o considering awarding prizes earlier in the year and advertising them for longer to increase participation;
- subsidising conference costs;
- subsidising student registrations (if not presenting papers);
- organising other events throughout the year.

It was suggested the incoming committee could consider and progress these ideas.

6. Election of Officers and Committee for 2018/19

After some deliberation, the Officers and Committee for 2018/19 are:

- President: Graeme Doole
- Immediate Past President: Darran Austin
- President Elect: Tony Schischka (Nominated by CS, Seconded by GD?)
- Treasurer: Phil Journeaux (who advised this will be his last year as Treasurer) (Nominated by CS, Seconded by GD)
- Secretary: TO BE CONFIRMED
- Committee members: Yvonne Matthews, Anita Wreford, Femi Olubode, Rachel Davidson

Yvonne noted she would be happy to act as the deputy Treasurer given previous experience in such a role.

Emma Moran, Peter Tozer, Alan Renwick, Carla Muller, Richard Yao and Santiago Bermeo stand down from the Committee.

7. Secretariat and Auditor

Agreed to continue with current arrangements. (Moved by PJ, Seconded by CS)

8. General Business

It was agreed that the next Conference will be in Hamilton.